Louisiana is a state located in the southern region of the United States. Louisiana is the 31st most extensive and the 25th most populous of the 50 United States. It covers 51,843 square miles, and 4,650,000 people live there. Its capital is Baton Rouge and largest city is New Orleans. Louisiana is the only state in the U.S. with political subdivisions termed parishes, which are the local government’s equivalent to counties. The largest parish by population is East Baton Rouge Parish, and the largest by land area is Plaquemines. Louisiana is bordered by Arkansas to the north, Mississippi to the east, Texas to the west, and the Gulf of Mexico to the south.
Much of the state’s lands were formed from sediment washed down the Mississippi River, leaving enormous deltas and vast areas of coastal marsh and swamp. These contain a rich southern biota; typical examples include birds such as ibis and egrets. There are also many species of tree frogs, and fish such as sturgeon and paddlefish. In more elevated areas, fire is a natural process in the landscape, and has produced extensive areas of longleaf pine forest and wet savannas. These support an exceptionally large number of plant species, including many species of orchids and carnivorous plants. Average state elevation is around 100 feet, making it very low country, suitable for drone flying. Here is the registration info for Louisiana state.
The Federal Aviation Administration announced that all units weighing between 0.55 pounds and 50 pounds must be registered by February 19th, 2016. Anyone caught flying without proper registration after that date could face stiff penalties. The FAA says civil penalties include a fine of up to $27,500. Criminal penalties include a fine of up to $250,000 and up to three years in jail.
- Unmanned flying machines that are operated outside have “a maximum takeoff weight” of anywhere between 250 grams and 55 pounds are required to register.
- Each owner would get a single registration number so if he or she has multiple drones, they don’t all need to be registered individually.
- Users don’t need to be registered to purchase a drone, but they do have to be registered before they start flying it.
- Name and street address are required to register, but the serial number of the drone, owner mailing address, phone number and email are all optional.
- You have to be 13 years old or older to register.
- The FAA doesn’t require information about citizenship or residency to register.
- Registration is free.
- The registration system will live online and likely be accessible through an app as well. There will also be an API component that would allow for the creation of custom apps that could work in concert with the database.
- Owners will receive an electronic copy of their registration certificate but a paper copy will also be available. The e-certificate will have the owner’s name, FAA registration number, a confirmation link and the drone serial number if it was included in the registration form. Operators would need to have the certificate on hand while using the drone in the event of an inspection.
- The FAA-issued registration number must be visible on the drone.
- GO TO THE REGISTRATION PAGE HERE.
- You must provide your complete name, physical address, mailing address, and an email address. The email address will be used as your login ID when you set up your account.
- Pay fee of $5 to FAA.
- You will receive a unique registration number that applies to any and all UAS that you own. You must mark all of your UAS with the unique registration number before operating. A registration certificate that contains the unique FAA registration number, the issue and expiration dates, and the name of the certificate holder will be sent to your email address immediately.
Louisiana Drone Rules:
- Fly no higher than 400 feet and remain below any surrounding obstacles when possible.
- Fly within visual line of sight.
- Remain well clear of and do not interfere with manned aircraft operations, and you must see and avoid other aircraft and obstacles at all times.
- Do not fly near emergency response efforts, like fires.
- Do not fly for payment or commercial purpose.
- Do not fly over groups of people.
- Do not fly in adverse weather conditions such as in high winds or reduced visibility.
- Do not fly under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- Do not fly over stadiums and sports events.
- Do not be careless or reckless with your unmanned aircraft – you could be fined for endangering people or other aircraft.
- It is illegal to take photos or record videos of people on private property.
- In Louisiana State it is a crime to conduct Drone surveillance of a targeted facility without the owner’s prior written consent and is punishable by a fine of up to $500 dollars and six months of jail time according to bill HB 1029 which was passed in June of 2014.
- It’s also unlawful to use an unmanned aircraft – or drone – over chemical, petroleum and nuclear power facilities unless its authorized. It’s a security precaution.
- Do not use a drone to gather, store or collect evidence of any type.
- Do not fly over unprotected persons or moving vehicles, and remain at least 25 feet away from individuals and vulnerable property.
- Do not fly near or over sensitive infrastructures such as power stations, water treatment facilities, correctional facilities, heavily traveled roadways, government facilities, etc.
- Contact the airport or control tower before flying within five miles of an airport.
Louisiana Special Drone Laws:
- Mississippi Drone Registration
- Texas Drone Registration
- Oklahoma Drone Registration
- Arkansas Drone Registration
- Colorado Drone Registration